We specialise in both custom printed and off-the-rack professional cycle clothing.


Tineli Junior and Women’s Tour of Rotorua 2009

Tineli is proud to support developing cycling talent in NZ as the title sponsor of NZ’s leading junior tour.

The tour had four stages over two days and saw around 180 riders competing in 6 age group categories plus an open women’s category.


Congratulations to the GC winners:

Junior Under 15 Girls: DEVON HILEY
Junior Under 15 Boys: REGAN GOUGH
Junior Under 17 Girls: GEORGIA WILLIAMS
Junior Under 17 Boys: ALEX MCCORY-BOWICK
Under 19 Women: MADDY BRUNTON

Full Tineli Junior and Women’s Tour of Rotorua 2009 results: http://www.cyclingrotorua.co.nz/Tineli%2009%20Tour.htm


Tineli is proud to support Wanaka’s Contact Epic which was another huge success with over 600 riders starting, including 200 returning riders from the inaugural 2008 race.

The Contact Epic began like no other race in the country. Competitors assembled on the Lake Hawea Dam, with Andrea Bocelli filling the silence as dawn broke and the mist rose from the lake. A moving ANZAC Day service followed with the, now traditional, Eminem song sent riders off on the challenging 125km course through two private high country stations in the Hunter Valley.

While Brent Miller from Christchurch won the open men’s section for the 125km Epic with a time of 5 hours and 7 minutes, Jim McMurray from Tirau beat him over the line by ten seconds, taking out the vet men’s title. Local Wanaka favorite, David Drake made second place in the open men’s with 5 hours and 14 minutes. Third place went to Mark Williams of Queenstown in 5 hours and 15 minutes.

Kath Kelly from Central Otago held her title for the second year winning the open women’s Epic with a time of 5 hours and 46 minutes. Georgie Maclean from Clyde followed her in, nabbing the second place title. Third place went to Natalie Whyte also of Wanaka.

In the shorter 95km Classic event, Wanaka athletes dominated the categories with Oliver Young from Wanaka proved again the vet men are the fastest being the first over the line at 4 hours and 52 minutes ahead of the open men’s winner, Neville Thorne from Te Anau by 3 minutes. Second in the Classic Open was Jeremy Murray-Orr in 5 hours 47 and in third place was Andy Goodall both of Wanaka.
Wanaka woman Lucy Fullerton won the open women’s with 6:25 on the clock followed by Jess Townsend in second place. Megan Reilly of Timaru, came third in 7 hours and 26mins.

For full results see www.contactepic.co.nz

Shoe Clinic Mountainbike Duathlon Series

Last year’s winner Jake Stow continued his good form, passing under the Tineli finishing arch first in the long version of race one of the Shoe Clinic Mountainbike Duathlon Series, held at Rabbit Island on Sunday April 26.

Stow will wear the Team Tineli leader’s jersey into race two, as will German exchange student Laura Hoffmueller, the first woman to finish.

Despite the overnight rain, more than 160 names were on the entry list when the hooter sounded to start the event, held over a testing course in the forest at the west end of the island. Included in the race were some top athletes as well as some family entries including children as young as 8-years-old.

Xterra age group bronze medalist Cliff Bowman led after the opening 5km run, but Stow took the lead on the bike and held it through the final 2.5km run.

Hoffmueller made the most of one of her last chances to race in New Zealand, building an early run lead over Soozie Trice and Gaye Evans.

Evans slipped into second spot on the bike course and that’s the way they stayed to the end of the race.

In the short race, 81 runners and 13 walkers set off down the narrow trail out of the Conifer Park transition area. In the women’s section, Claire Erasmus shot off to an early lead over last year’s series winner Karen Goodger in the 2km run section, with Georgia Anderson just one second back.

Glenys Karran and race sponsor Andrea Livingston were the next two women to reach for their bikes and it was Livingston who took control, going on the win ahead of Karran, then Goodger.

Last year’s winner Wouter De Maat was back intent on defending his title in the short version of the race, but Paul Eggers matched him stride for stride finishing ahead of De Maat in the first 2km run, with Sean Doherty, Hayden Erasmus and Scott Barr tucked in behind.

It was the same story on the 7.5km bike, with Doherty just edging De Maat by seconds. In the final run, Doherty moved away for a 40 second win.

Doherty and Livingston will wear the Tineli leaders’ jerseys into race two for this event.

Michael Harte claimed an emphatic victory in the walk section, taking the quickest time in all three sections, with Peter Hague and Steve Pauling second and third.

Winner of the women’s walk section in 2007, Rebecca Wasley was determined to wear the leader’s jersey in race two, and she’ll do that thanks to a more than two minute victory over Charmaine Nathan and Leanne Murray.

Race two of the three-race series over the same course is in two weeks.

Long Course Start

Long Course Start


Tineli sponsored athlete Richard Ussher has won the 2009 Xterra National Championships.

He was challenged by world champion triathlete Terenzo Bozonne who lead comfortably after the swim leg but Ussher, Tim Wilding and Scott Thorn moved into the lead during the mountain bike leg. Ussher cleared away from Thorn in the second half of the run to win by 30 seconds.
Elina Ussher took out the Xterra Trail Running Championships, an impressive 9 minutes ahead of second place, covering the 21km in a time of 1:32:08.

Richard Ussher

Richard Ussher